Christmas Countdown: Day 4

Rudolph, the Red-Nosed Reindeer

Growing up we had lots of traditions during the holidays, as many families do, including Christmas Eve with our family friends’ since our extended family was on the East coast. On the years we didn’t host, our family would pack into our VW vanagon for the drive over the river to the West Hills for dinner.

As a little girl, I loved when Christmas Eve was at our friend’s house, not because of their better toy and movie selection, but because of the drive home. As we came through the tunnel out of the hills and drove toward the river, I would start to turn around in the back seat in anticipation.

As my dad would start to soar over the Marquam bridge, I would stare out the window trying not to blink and then he’d be there – Rudolph with his bright red nose all lit up! There was only a few seconds when he was visible in his full glory so I didn’t dare blink until we’d take the off-ramp to I-84 away from Downtown.

Christmas Countdown: Day 4

All year long I’d ride over the Burnside Bridge and see the White Stag sign (which is what it used to read) like I did tonight as I drove Downtown for an event and think about Santa and Rudolph’s big night.

I was convinced that Rudolph’s glowing red nose only worked on Christmas Eve. No other night. I probably thought it was part of Santa’s beacon for Portland. My older siblings would insist that the nose stayed lit the entire holiday season, but I stuck to my guns. One Santa, one Rudolph, one nose, one night. Only.

After we arrived home and got into our PJs, I would tiredly shuffle from the kitchen to the living room with Santa’s special plate of cookies and carrots, plus a glass of milk. These would go on the side table next to the wing chair where I would curl up to read The Polar Express every year before going to bed.

“Though I’ve grown old, the [nose] still [glows] for me, as it does for all who truly believe.”

Leave a comment